Hatena::Diary

2013-05-21

Closing Times for the Flipnote Hatena Online Service

Thank you for using the Flipnote Hatena website and Flipnote Hatena for Nintendo DSi.

As previously announced, the Flipnote Hatena service will be ending on May 31, 2013.

The Flipnote Hatena website will be closing at the following times for all regions:

  • Kyoto, Japan (JST): May 31, 2013 (Friday) at 11:59 pm
  • Los Angeles, USA (PDT): May 31, 2013 (Friday) at 7:59 am
  • Chicago, USA (CDT): May 31, 2013 (Friday) at 9:59 am
  • New York, USA (EDT): May 31, 2013 (Friday) at 10:59 am
  • London, UK (BST): May 31, 2013 (Friday) at 3:59 pm
  • Berlin, Germany (CEST): May 31, 2013 (Friday) at 4:59 pm
  • Sydney, Australia (AEST): June 1, 2013 (Saturday) at 12:59 am

Flipnote Hatena for Nintendo DSi will be closing at the following times for each region:

  • Americas region
    • Los Angeles, USA (PDT): May 31, 2013 (Friday) at 11:59 pm
    • Chicago, USA (CDT): June 1, 2013 (Saturday) at 1:59 am
    • New York, USA (EDT): June 1, 2013 (Saturday) at 2:59 am
    • London, UK (BST): June 1, 2013 (Saturday) at 7:59 am
    • Berlin, Germany (CEST): June 1, 2013 (Saturday) at 8:59 am
    • Sydney, Australia (AEST): June 1, 2013 (Saturday) at 4:59 pm
    • Kyoto, Japan (JST): June 1, 2013 (Saturday) at 3:59 pm
  • Europe and Oceania region
    • London, UK (BST): May 31, 2013 (Friday) at 10:59 pm
    • Berlin, Germany (CEST): May 31, 2013 (Friday) at 11:59 pm
    • Sydney, Australia (AEST): June 1, 2013 (Saturday) at 8:00 am
    • Los Angeles, USA (PDT): May 31, 2013 (Friday) at 2:59 pm
    • Chicago, USA (CDT): May 31, 2013 (Friday) at 4:59 pm
    • New York, USA (EDT): May 31, 2013 (Friday) at 5:59 pm
    • Kyoto, Japan (JST): June 1, 2013 (Saturday) at 6:59 am
  • Japan
    • Kyoto, Japan (JST): May 31, 2013 (Friday) at 11:59 pm
    • Los Angeles, USA (PDT): May 31, 2013 (Friday) at 7:59 am
    • Chicago, USA (CDT): May 31, 2013 (Friday) at 9:59 am
    • New York, USA (EDT): May 31, 2013 (Friday) at 10:59 am
    • London, UK (BST): May 31, 2013 (Friday) at 3:59 pm
    • Berlin, Germany (CEST): May 31, 2013 (Friday) at 4:59 pm
    • Sydney, Australia (AEST): June 1, 2013 (Saturday) at 12:59 am

You will still be able to share your uploaded Flipnotes on the new online service for Flipnote Studio 3D to be operated by Nintendo Co., Ltd. (planned to be released in summer 2013). To manage your Flipnotes you need a password which will be provided to you on your Nintendo DSi system. You can continue to confirm your password after the Flipnote Hatena service ends on May 31, 2013.

Thank you for your support all of these years, from all of us at Hatena.

2013-05-17

May 17, 2013: Flipnote Hatena Weekly News

f:id:flipnotehatena:20100205181131p:image

Hello, this is Aaron at Hatena in Kyoto, Japan with the latest news about Flipnote Hatena.

We would like to express our thanks to everyone posted "Up/Down" Flipnotes and hope that you enjoyed the topic.

Flipnote Hatena will be closing in 15 days, and there are only 2 weekly topics left (including this week). If you have not yet posted a weekly topic Flipnote please give it a try!

Thanks for checking out the news blog, from all of us at Hatena.

Flipnote of the Week

★ Check out the cute baby being thrown up and down in this funny animation by Tako death (id:rabbit_thankyou) from Japan.

The best of the last week's topic: "Up/Down"

There were over 580 Flipnotes posted about last week's topic, and here are some of our favorites from around the world.

You can see all of the Flipnotes posted about last week's topic by clicking on the link below (be sure to set your content preference to Worldwide to see Flipnotes from all regions):

Weekly Topic: Up/Down

"Up/Down" Flipnotes from the Americas region

★ Crossing the street is easy in this up/down Flipnote by Najat.T.S (id:gold69)!

★ We liked this nicely drawn animation of a roller coaster by IvanaJones (id:zuperartist).

★ What goes up must come down in this Flipnote by dana m. (id:DanaM).

★ Be careful where you fly a kite in this animation by Arty Flo (id:runako-rawlins-2001).

★ Take a journey through the earth in this Flipnote by *•Blue•* (id:pinko3857).

★ Two characters discuss which way to go in this funny animation by 99th Dream (id:SwitchbladeJoey).

"Up/Down" Flipnotes from the Europe and Oceania region

★ Have some fun on a trampoline in this up/down Flipnote by Automaton (id:doofus).

★ We liked this stylish and colorful up/down animation by Armageddon (id:Catastrofe).

★ A trio of characters play with an elevator in this animation by Darwin (id:chechojandro).

★ We enjoyed the upside down world in this Flipnote by Chopper ~☆ (id:SuperPikachu).

★ Trampolines and reading don't mix in this animation by DSITEROL (id:Classic-Angels).

★ Find out what is underneath the volcano in this Flipnote by ☆Beluga☆ (id:DarkRah2)

"Up/Down" Flipnotes from Japan

★ We liked this exciting up/down animation posted by JunJun (id:junkun123).

★ Two worlds above and below meet in this amazing animation by Foomin (id:wrbyno10).

★ Check out the extreme bungee jumping in this animation by Johnny3 (id:a3735963).

★ A character climbs up and takes a dive in this Flipnote by Keiko (id:mangatamago).

★ A rabbit has fun on a seesaw in this cute animation by Touden★Haruka (id:yf9212).

★ Two parts come together to form a robot in this Flipnote by FENNEC (id:CYBASTER).

This week's topic: "Wish"

This week we would like you to create Flipnotes about wishes. Makes stories about wishes for the future, wishing wells, magic lamps, or hopes and dreams. See where your creativity takes you!

Please submit your weekly topic Flipnotes by 9:00 PM on May 23, 2013 (Thursday) US Pacific Time, and we will present some of our favorites on May 24, 2013 (Friday).

You can see all of the Flipnotes currently posted about this week's topic at the URL below (be sure to set your content preference to Worldwide to see Flipnotes from all regions):

Weekly Topic: Wish

Frog Sightings

If you are interested in having your frog photo or illustration featured in the 'Weekly Frog Sighting' section of the blog please post them on Hatena Haiku and we might feature it here.

Please submit only original photos/illustrations that you have created yourself.

Aaron (id:aaron) took this photo of a jumping frog ride at an amusement park in Tochigi, Japan.

f:id:aaron:20130505173450j:image:w200

Feedback

What did you think about the weekly news this week? Let us know by telling us your feedback in the box below.

You can read comments posted by Nintendo DSi users by viewing the Flipnote below:

Hatena Haiku

2013-05-11

New registrations ending for users under 13 years of age from the United States and Canada on May 15, 2013

Due to the termination of the Flipnote Hatena service at the end of May, Hatena will no longer accept new registrations from Canadian or U.S. users under 13 years of age as of Wednesday May 15, 2013 at 11:59 p.m. US PDT (May 16, 2013, 3:59:00 p.m. JST).

We apologize for any inconvenience.